Wednesday, November 17, 2010

I hate the word "like"

I hate the word "like." It is something that really, REALLY annoys me. I try to avoid using it and I can't stand it when other people use it repeatedly.

Apparently I'm not alone


And it is a word that has been one of the deal-breakers for me in a relationship with me in a relationship.

Recently I got involved with a girl who said "like" at least twice in every sentence. I once counted for a period of two minutes how many times she used the word "like" and it ended up being 54 times!!! 54 times someone said the same word in a two-minute period. Here is an example of one of her sentences: "Like, I just don't really like understand you and your really, like, hurting me." Frustrating....

A Facebook group for those who overuse the word like :)

After seeing this girl for about a two-week period I couldn't stand it anymore. I had to end it. Now when I sat down with her and told her she wasn't my type, this wasn't the only reason I gave her as to why she wasn't for me (I won't get into those details because that's a whole separate story). To me, using that word incessantly makes you seem very dumb. It makes the person using it seem very un-educated.

My question to you guys is was I justified in this? Is having a problem with the way someone talks a righteous way to break off a relationship? Am I weird or different for having a problem with this? I'm asking because it's been bugging me for the past few weeks.

Most commonly overused words and phrases

2 comments:

  1. lol how could one girl say 'like' 54 times in one sentence? That almost seems impossible. I don't really know the details of your relationship, but I don't think you're weird. Some things people do or act like can just drive you nuts. Why should you live with something you can't stand for more than two weeks. You would just be absolutely miserable. I think maybe before you broke up with her, just tell her what she is doing. Maybe she could have stopped or tried stopping. If she did not stop, then dump her. Even when you broke up with her, you should have told her so she knows in general or for the next guy. It might hurt her feelings, but it will help her in the end.

    ReplyDelete
  2. i like couldnt like agree more with you on this topic! I have a kid in one of my classes who literally says it almost every other word when he speaks and its super annoying, I don't think he used the word 54 times though. I'm wonder did you ever just call out that girl on it? and to answer you question I broke up with a girl before for a similar reason she had to have a bubbly giggle after almost every sentence and it drove me insane! ha

    ReplyDelete